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June 27 & 28, 2015
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Roanoke Valley Regional Fire & EMS Training Center
This course will cover VDFP Class 1, 2 and 3.  This course is REQUIRED for all Roanoke County Driver Operators.  28

Description: A course designed to enhance safe vehicle operation by stressing theory and principles of defensive driving in both emergency and non-emergency situations. Virginia Motor Vehicle laws pertinent to the operation of emergency vehicles are included in the course. This class is not designed to teach the student to drive, but rather to explain how emergency driving differs from non-emergency driving. Although some driving experience will be gained through the practical exercises it is strongly recommended that the student have adequate driving experience in the vehicle.

Each organization represented may be asked to furnish at least one emergency vehicle to be used in the practical session of the class. Each volunteer will be required to drive the type of vehicle in which he/she is seeking certification for, for example: response car is class 1, ambulance is class 2, wagon is class 3, or all of the above. Volunteers outside of Roanoke County may be considered for the class if space is available and will be required to provide a letter of permission from their Chief, pay a registration fee of $20.00 and must provide vehicles for the driving portion of class. 

The course requires 16 hours of instruction (100% attendance required for certification), eight hours classroom and eight hours of practical exercises. A written examination is required for the classroom portion and students will be evaluated during the driving exercises. An EVOC certificate will be awarded to each student successfully completing the course.

Prerequisites: Students must be at least 21 years of age and have a valid Virginia driver’s license in order to participate in the course. Roanoke County volunteers must have a current VDMV record on file showing -2 or better point value and have been cleared to operate County vehicles through the Volunteer Coordinator’s Office in order to register.  All volunteers attending class must present their valid Virginia driver’s license and RCFRD ID. It is REQUIRED that drivers have a minimum of 10 hours practice time in the class vehicle they wish to test and certify on, however, a volunteer must be approved to drive through RCFRD before participating in practice time.  Practice time should be conducted in empty parking lots and on low-traffic volume roads and never to or from an emergency incident.
Brought to you by the RCFRD Training Division
Registration starts April 21, 2015 by E-mailing your request to                   � HYPERLINK "mailto:JSexton@RoanokeCountyVA.gov" �JSexton@RoanokeCountyVA.gov� INCLUDE: name, organization, email, & if you are DMV record is on file 


Registration Deadline is June 19, 2015 at 5 p.m.


Class is Limited to 15 students








