Fire & Rescue Awards

The Governor's Fire Service Awards are presented annually to recipients in eight categories. Roanoke County Fire and Rescue is the only fire department in Virginia to have been recognized each year since the program's inception in 2002. Below are the most recent awards received by Roanoke County's Fire and Rescue Department.

Virginia Department of Fire Programs Opens in new window

Virginia Department of Fire Programs

The Governor's Fire Service Awards were established in 2002 as a formal recognition of excellence in Virginia's Fire Services. Nominees are carefully reviewed and selected by the Virginia Fire Services Board Executive Committee and forwarded to the Governor through the Secretary of Public Safety for final approval. 

Western Virginia EMS Opens in new window

Western Virginia EMS

The Western Virginia EMS Region includes the counties of: 

  • Alleghany
  • Craig
  • Botetourt
  • Floyd
  • Franklin
  • Giles
  • Henry
  • Montgomery
  • Roanoke
  • Patrick
  • Pittsylvania
  • Pulaski

Also included are the cities of: 

  • Covington
  • Danville
  • Martinsville
  • Radford
  • Roanoke
  • Salem

Virginia Association of Counties (VACo) VACo Opens in new window

The VACo Achievement Awards is a competitive program open to local government members of the association. Held annually, it recognizes local government programs in awards criteria that include innovation, cooperation and model practices. VACo encourages all counties, big and small, to enter the Achievement Awards Program.