Public Information Awards

Roanoke County's Public Information Office has received state and national recognition for its communications programs, publications and social media initiatives. Below are the most recent accolades received by the department.

MarCom Awards Opens in new window MarCom Awards

MarCom Awards is a creative competition for any individual or company involved in the concept, writing and design of print, visual, audio and web materials and programs. Entries come from corporate marketing and communication departments, advertising agencies, Public Relations firms, design shops, production companies and freelancers. A look at the winners shows a range in size from individuals to media conglomerates and Fortune 50 companies. The competition is so well thought of in the industry that national public relations organizations, local ad clubs, and local business communicator chapters are entrants.  

Silver Public Relations Society of America Silver Anvil Opens in new windowAnvil Awards

The Public Relations Society of America's Silver Anvil is awarded annually to organizations reaching the very highest levels of professional achievement.

In the 60-plus-year history of the Silver Anvils, more than 1,000 organizations have been recognized, including: 

  • Agencies of All Sizes
  • Associations
  • Government Agencies
  • Large and Small Businesses
  • Nonprofits
  • Solo Practitioners
  • Top Corporations

The Silver Anvil Awards recognize complete programs incorporating sound research, planning, execution and evaluation. Award winners exemplify the professional skill, creativity and resourcefulness needed to succeed in today's world. The Silver Anvil is the most prestigious award in the public relations industry.

Virginia Association of Counties (VACo) VACo Achievement Award Opens in new window

VACo exists to support county officials and to effectively represent, promote and protect the interests of counties to better serve the people of Virginia.

The VACo Achievement Awards is a competitive program open to local government members of the association. Held annually, it recognizes local government programs in awards criteria that include innovation, cooperation and model practices.