Community Policy & Management Team


The Community Policy and Management Team creates, maintains, and manages a collaborative system of services and funding that is child-centered, family-focused, and community-based. The system addresses the strengths and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families who reside within the county.


Permanent members of the board include local agency heads (or their designees) who have the authority to approve funds from the following community services:

  • Community Services Board
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Social Services
  • Juvenile Court Services Unit
  • Roanoke County School Board

Additional members of the board with unlimited term lengths include representatives of the following departments/agencies of Roanoke County as designed by the Board of Supervisors: the assistant county administrator, the director of finance or designee, the senior assistant county attorney or designee, and the chief of police or designee.

Team membership is available on a three-year term basis to private representatives from organizations or associations of providers of children/family services, as well as to parent advocates who are not employees of any public or private program that serves children/families.

Roanoke County Appointed Members

  • Richard Caywood, County Administrator (alternate)
  • Susan Goad, Director of Social Services
  • Laurie Gearheart, Finance Department
  • Peter Lubeck, County Attorney (Advisor)
  • Grace McCown, Children’s Services Act (CSA) Coordinator
  • Rebecca Owens, Deputy County Administrator
  • Sergeant Dan Walters, Police Department - Alternate
  • Commander Pat Pascoe, Police Department
  • Open, Parent Advocate
    Three-year term
  • Open, Parent Advocate
    Three-year term expires June 30, 2020

Community Services Board

  • Leigh Frazier
  • Mark Chadwick
  • Sarah Watkins
  • Howard Shumate
  • Courtney Alleyne (alternate)
  • Chris Park (alternate)

Mental Health Services

  • Cathy Brown, Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare (primary
  • Debbie Bonniwell, Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare (alternate)
  • Heather Gunn, Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare (alternate)
  • Tamara Starnes, Blue Ridge Behavioral Healthcare (alternate)

Roanoke County School Board

  • Dr. Jessica McClung, Director of Roanoke County Schools Special Education and Pupil Personnel Services
  • Cheryl Austin, Special Education Region Program Coordinator (alternate)

Private Community Service

  • Renee Brown, DePaul Community Resources
  • Trista Thompson, DePaul Community Resources (alternate)

 Court Services

  • Kevim Meeks
  • Jasmin Lawson (alternate)
  • Joshua Vaught (alternate)

Department of Health

  • Suzanne Renegar, Roanoke City Health Department (designee)
  • Debbie Sams, Roanoke City Health Department (alternate)

For More Information

If you have any questions or would like more information, please contact Grace McGown, CSA Coordinator at 540-283-8804.