Roanoke Valley Resource Authority

Roanoke County Appointed Members

  • Doug Blount, Assistant County Administrator
    Unexpired term of R. Light, ending December 31, 2023
  • Rebecca Owens, Deputy County Administrator
    Four-year term expires December 31, 2026
  • Laurie Gearheart, Director of Finance and Management Services
    Four-year term expires December 31, 2023
  • Steve Bandy
    Four-year term expires December 31, 2025
  • Todd Simmons
    Four-year term expires December 31, 2025

The governing body of the County of Roanoke always appoints a majority of the members, and whenever an additional political subdivision joins the authority, Roanoke County is entitled to appoint one or more additional members to maintain the majority.


The Roanoke Valley Resource Authority was created in 1992 to properly manage solid waste disposal for the residents and businesses of the County of Roanoke, the City of Roanoke, and the Town of Vinton.


The governing body of each participating political subdivision appoints the number of people who may be members as follows:

  • Five people from the County of Roanoke
  • Two people from the City of Roanoke
  • One person from the City of Salem
  • One person from the Town of Vinton

For More Information

If you have any questions or would like meeting details, please visit the Roanoke Valley Resource Authority website.