Precious Metals Permit
Precious Metals Permit
These procedures must be completed in their entirety EVERY YEAR. Please start this process 45 days prior to the expiration of your current license.
Please read and understand the Code of Virginia and the Roanoke County Code before you begin the license process.
Roanoke County Code - Sections 16.1.1 through 16.1-20
MuniCode (click search, and type in 16.1.1)
Code of Virginia - § 54.1-4100
Chapter 41 Section 54
If you have any further questions, please contact the Roanoke County Police Department Criminal Investigations Division at 540-777-8641.
- Complete the Roanoke County Police Department's Precious Metals Permit Application (PDF).
- Complete the Virginia State Police's Criminal History Request (Form SP-167).
a. This form must be completed online and printed with the bar code at the top.
b. Select Criminal History Records Request
c. Under Form, Select SP-167 Criminal History and Sex Offender Search
d. Complete and Print the form.
e. Return completed form to CID Commander
f. Under the "Mail Reply To" section of the form
Name: Roanoke County Police
Attention: Cdr. R. Torres
Address: 5925 Cove Road, Roanoke, Virginia 24019
- Obtain a set of fingerprints from the Roanoke County POLICE DEPT.
a. Arrangements can be made to get your fingerprints taken by the CID Commander during the application process. Please
contact the Roanoke County Police Department Criminal Investigations Division at 540-777-8641.
b. MUST have valid photo identification.
- Return the following items to the Roanoke County Police Department, located at 5925 Cove Road, Roanoke, Virginia 24019.
a. Completed Roanoke County Police Department's Precious Metals Permit Application.
b. Completed Virginia State Police Criminal History Request - signed along with $15 payment.
c. Payment can be a $15 money order, Business Check, Certified Check payable to the Virginia State Police or credit card
information, which is completed on the form.
d. Money order for $200 for the Treasurer, County of Roanoke.
e. Completed fingerprint card. (See #3 above)
f. Current inspection and approval of ALL weighing devices that will be used at the business.
g. $10,000 dollar bond or letter of credit as required by Code of Virginia.
- The police department will send the information to the Virginia State Police for criminal history checks.
a. Conviction of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude (lying, stealing or cheating) within seven (7) years will disqualify you.
b. The process can take up to 30 days to complete.
- After receiving this information, the file will be given to the Chief of Police for approval.
- After approval, the permit will be mailed to you at the business location or other arrangements can be made.
Download a PDF version of this page content
@(Model.BulletStyle == CivicPlus.Entities.Modules.Layout.Enums.BulletStyle.Decimal ? "ol" : "ul")>