Absentee & Early Voting
EARLY VOTING IN-PERSON
Before visiting our office please Check your Voter Registration Status with the Virginia Department of Elections.
Vote Early In-Person:
Starting 45 days before Election Day, visit our office Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. The Saturday before Election Day is the last day to vote early!
- Vote In-Person at the Office of Elections from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday from September 18 to October 30, 2020.
- Vote In-Person at the Office of Elections from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, Saturday, October 24 and Saturday, October 31, 2020.
- Vote Early In-Person at the Office of Elections at the address below:
Roanoke County Office of Elections
900 Chestnut Street
Vinton, Virginia, 24179
Additional Information about Early Voting In-Person
- You do not have to have a reason or fill out an application to vote early.
- You must provide your name and address and show an acceptable form of ID. Learn more about Voter Identification Requirements. If acceptable identification is not provided, you must sign an ID Confirmation Statement or a provisional ballot will be offered.
- Accessible equipment and/or curbside voting is available upon request.
APPLYING TO VOTE ABSENTEE BY MAIL
Visit the Virginia Department of Elections to Apply online to Vote Absentee By Mail
- After applying, you can check to see if your absentee application was received, and whether your ballot was sent and received by going to the Virginia Department of Election’s Citizen Portal.
YOU CAN ALSO MAIL YOUR APPLICATION FOR ABSENTEE BALLOT
Download and complete the Vote by Mail Application Form. Return the completed and signed form by mail or email.
Roanoke County Office of Elections
P.O. Box 20884
Roanoke, VA. 24018
After the registrar processes your application, you will receive your ballot in the mail. Please note: ballots can be mailed out to applicants starting 45 days prior to the relevant election date.
Carefully review the instructions to complete and return your ballot to your local registrar by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. If you are returning your ballot by mail, it must be postmarked on or before Election Day and received by your registrar by noon on the third day after the election.
FIRST TIME VOTING IN YOUR COUNTY OR CITY
In-state and local elections, some first-time voters cannot vote absentee by mail. If you registered to
vote by mailing in your voter registration application, and it is your first time voting in your locality,
you cannot vote by mail in a state or local election unless you meet one of the following conditions:
- You are a student attending college/university outside of your city/county of residence in Virginia
- You have a disability or illness that prevents you from voting in person
- You are pregnant
- You are confined awaiting trial or you are confined following conviction for a misdemeanor
- You are active-duty merchant marine or in the armed forces or a spouse or dependent of an active duty service member
- You are temporarily residing outside of the United States
- You have moved to another state less than thirty days before a Presidential election and you are requesting a ballot for Presidential and Vice-Presidential electors only
- You are age 65 or older
SPECIAL FEDERAL ID REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTAIN FIRST TIME ABSENTEE BY MAIL VOTERS
For persons who registered to vote in Virginia by mail, federal law requires them to show identification (ID) when voting for the first time in a federal election if they did not send a copy of one of these IDs with their voter registration applications. Recent legislation has eliminated the differences in acceptable identification for in-person voting. Therefore, the special federal ID requirements only apply to certain absentee voters by mail who will be notified by a notice explaining the requirements sent with their absentee ballot. Voters who receive a notice about this special requirements need to include a copy of any of the following types of ID with the voted ballot:
- A current and valid photo ID (for example a driver’s license);
- Or a current utility bill, bank statement, government check or paycheck that shows name and address;
- Or another government document that shows name and address (for example a voter card). If the voter returns an absentee ballot by mail without a copy of one of these forms of ID, the absentee ballot will be treated as a provisional ballot and counted only if the voter provides a copy of ID to the electoral board by the deadline applicable to all voters.
If the voter returns an absentee ballot by mail without a copy of one of these forms of ID, the absentee ballot will be treated as a provisional ballot and counted only if the voter provides a copy of ID to the electoral board by the deadline applicable to all voters.
FOR MORE INFORMATION
For more information, contact the Roanoke County Office of Elections at 540-772-7500 or visit the Office of Elections at 900 Chestnut Street, Vinton, Virginia, 24179.