News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/17/2013 3:47:00 PM to 1/19/2013 12:05:01 AM.

News Flash

County News

Posted on: January 17, 2013

[ARCHIVED] Weather-related Information and Resources

Weather Related Information and Resources

Roanoke County citizens are asked to direct calls for service and information related to weather conditions to the appropriate agencies and offices...

As a reminder, you can sign up for email address, cell phone, and your VoIP telephone number to receive Roanoke County emergency notifications at

Update on Roads from VDOT

Crews with the Virginia Department of Transportation's Salem District are prepared to respond to afternoon snow showers throughout our area. With the snow forecasted to arrive in the late afternoon and evening hours, drivers are encouraged to plan ahead and avoid driving during this time.

When snow occurs, crews will focus on clearing interstate and primary roads (those numbered 1-599) until the snow stops and those roads are plowed and treated. Some examples of primary routes are 460, 419, 311, 221, 220, 122, 116, 114, 58, 40 and 8.

Once the snow stops and the interstates and primary roads are plowed and treated, operators will focus on secondary roads (those numbered 600 and above).

Drivers should:

  • Slow down and allow for extra time to reach their destinations
  • Be aware of potentially icy areas such as shady spots and bridges
  • Keep a safe distance of at least five seconds behind other vehicles
  • Do not pass a snowplow or spreader unless it is absolutely necessary
Drivers are encouraged to check road conditions in their area before they leave home by calling 511 or logging on to

To report downed trees or hazardous road conditions, call VDOT's Customer Service Center at 1-800-FOR-ROAD (800-367-7623).

The Salem District includes the counties of Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Henry, Giles, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski and Roanoke.

Facebook Twitter Email