News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/29/2014 9:15:48 AM to 1/31/2014 12:05:03 AM.

News Flash

Road Notices

Posted on: January 29, 2014

[ARCHIVED] VDOT Crews Worked Throughout the Night Plowing and Treating Roads

SALEM – (4:30 a.m.) Equipment operators and crews with the Virginia Department of Transportation’s Salem District worked throughout the night to plow and treat roadways. Drivers are encouraged to avoid travel this morning, especially in Patrick, Carroll and Henry counties where most primary and secondary roads are listed in moderate condition.

The following road conditions were reported as of 4:30 a.m.

Interstate 81 in Botetourt, Montgomery, Roanoke and Pulaski counties and I-581 in Roanoke are listed in minor condition. I-77 in Carroll County is in minor condition.

Primary routes (those numbered 1-599) in Carroll, Henry and Patrick counties are listed in moderate condition. All primary routes in Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Montgomery, Pulaski and Roanoke counties are listed in minor condition with the exception of Route 501 in Bedford County which is listed in moderate condition.

Secondary routes (those numbered 600 and above) in Pulaski County are listed in minor condition. Most secondary routes in Carroll, Henry, Patrick, Bedford, Botetourt, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Montgomery and Roanoke counties are in moderate condition.

Crews will continue to work throughout the day to clear and treat roads. Snow plow drivers will work first on the interstate and primary routes and continue to focus on these routes until conditions improve. Once the precipitation stops and these major roads are plowed and treated, VDOT begins to work on neighborhood streets and secondary roads.

For winter weather road conditions go to, look at the orange bar on the top of the page and click on “Text Views” and then click on “Road Condition Table”. Look at the pull down box that lists all jurisdictions. In this box individual counties can be chosen to view.

The 12-county VDOT Salem District includes the counties of Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Franklin, Floyd, Giles, Henry, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski and Roanoke.

VDOT is responsible for maintaining county roads; cities and large towns are responsible for snow removal on roads maintained by that locality.

Road condition definitions:
Severe – significant snow or ice on roadway
Moderate – snow or ice on major portions of the roadway.
Minor – bare pavement except for isolated spots of snow, ice or slush

Facebook Twitter Email