News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/13/2014 8:04:46 AM to 2/15/2014 12:10:01 AM.

News Flash

Road Notices

Posted on: February 13, 2014

[ARCHIVED] VDOT Urges Drivers to Stay Off Roads; Crews Continue to Focus on Clearing Interstates and Primaries

SALEM – Many roads remain mostly snow covered in southwest Virginia this morning as snow continues to fall. Virginia Department of Transportation’s (VDOT) crews and contractors have been plowing and treating roads overnight and will continue plowing throughout the day.

In VDOT’s Salem District, Interstate 81 in Roanoke, Botetourt, and Montgomery counties, I-581 in Roanoke County and primary roads (those numbered 1-599) in all counties are in moderate condition, meaning there is ice or snow on major portions of the roadway. I-77 in Carroll County and I-81 in Pulaski County are in severe condition meaning the roads have significant ice or snow and driving on them could be hazardous.

Secondary roads (those numbered 600 and above), bridges and ramps in all counties are in severe condition.

Today, operators will continue plow and treat Interstate and primary roads until the snow stops. Once the snow stops and these roads are clear, plow drivers will move on to secondary roads.

Drivers should avoid travel until after the storm to allow snow plows the opportunity to plow and treat roadways.

Heavy traffic on a portion of southbound I-81 between mile markers 105 and 117 in Montgomery County is delaying the ability of snow plow drivers to get through the area quickly.

If drivers must go out immediately after the storm they are advised to do the following:
- Check road conditions before leaving home by calling 511 or logging in to
- Slow down and allow for extra time to reach your destination
- Be aware of potentially icy areas such as shady spots and bridges
- Keep a safe distance of at least five seconds behind other vehicles and trucks that are plowing the road
- Do not pass snow removal equipment

Traffic and road condition information can be obtained by dialing 511 or visiting

The Salem District includes the counties of Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Henry, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski and Roanoke.

Facebook Twitter Email