News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/6/2015 11:56:14 AM to 3/8/2015 12:05:02 AM.

News Flash

Road Notices

Posted on: March 6, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Salem District: VDOT Continues to Treat and Plow Roads Today

SALEM – (11:30 a.m.) – Equipment operators and contractors with the Virginia Department of Transportation have been plowing and treating roads throughout the morning and the bright sunshine is helping crews improve conditions throughout the district.
Interstates (I-77, I-81 and I-581) and most primary roads (those numbered 1-599) are in clear to minor condition. Drivers should watch for isolated slick spots on bridges, overpasses and ramps.
Most secondary roads (those numbered 600 and above) are in minor to moderate condition and crews are continuing to work on clearing secondary roads, neighborhood streets and subdivisions today. When secondary roads and neighborhood streets have been plowed, a frozen layer of packed down snow and ice may remain on many of these roads because of cold temperatures. Drivers should allow for extra travel time and should not expect clear pavement until temperatures rise. VDOT equipment operators will continue to be working in 12-hour shifts around the clock to plow and treat roads.
While temperatures are still below freezing in many areas and are expected to fall again tonight, icy conditions throughout our area are expected to continue into Saturday. Crews will continue to monitor and address road conditions throughout the day and overnight. Drivers should expect refreezing on wet roadways.
There are still areas of flooding in the Botetourt, Giles, and Montgomery. Drivers are encouraged to use caution when approaching pooling water on roadways. To report debris, including downed trees, flooding or other hazards on the roadway, call VDOT’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-367-ROAD (7623).
Travelers are reminded that they can get real-time information on road conditions and traffic incidents on Virginia roads by using VDOT’s 511 free mobile app or the website and phone system.
The Salem District includes the counties of Bedford, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Henry, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski, and Roanoke.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Road Notices